SuperCake

image

These cakes are tasty.

They’re pink.

and they include one of your five a day,

ergo

Perfect cakes? Probably.

As always with food posts this time of year, the recipe revolves around produce grown on the allotment because there is literally nothing better than being creative with vegetables raised by your own hand. Beetroot has risen to prominence recently, what with being dubbed some sort of a superfood. I just think it’s super because ( other than the pesky black fly) it’s pretty easy to grow and fairly versatile, way more versatile than people ( ie my Dad) first thought. Dad (sorry Dad) recently confessed that he only roasted the beetroot that Mum bought home from their crop share, because he thought it was another form of swede or carrot or something. More familiar with the bright pink pickled variety than the dirty, fresh from the ground that morning, still with leaves and roots Dad was remarkable perturbed by the crunchy nature of raw beet- a bit more root than he suspected I think.

image

After the success (if I do say so myself) of my beetroot falafel, and with memories of the tasty chocolate beetroot torte I made last summer I wanted to make something yummy, and something pink. I toyed with the idea of doing a carrot cake with beetroot but my fella, in no uncertain terms told me not to mess with a classic, I mused the internet a while and came across recipes that called for beetroot to be purΓ©ed rather than grated into the mix. Turned out pretty well I reckon.

1. Preheat your oven and pop out your cupcake cases on a couple of trays

2. Mix 300g self raising flour, pinch of salt and 1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder in a bowl

3. Mix 300g caster sugar with 225ml oil

4. Beat in three eggs, one at a time

5. Add 2tsp vanilla

6. Fold in flour mix, and add 2tbsp milk

7. Stir in beetroot purΓ©e. (I made this by roasting about 4 small beetroot for an hour, peeling them, and once cool, blending with juice of half a lemon and a splash of water)

8. At this point I split my mixture and added a tbsp of Cocao to one half.

9. Spoon into cake cases and bake 20-25 mins until they spring back from the touch

10. Once cool ice with cream cheese icing and decorate with raspberries.

Enjoy.

image

Leave a Reply

