Pineapple Upside Down Cake

I’ve been wanting to make a pineapple upside down cake for yonks. I’ve never had it before, and I mean I love pineapple and I love cake, but it’s rather an elusive being and you never just stumble across it in a coffee shop. It’s always Victoria Sponge or Carrot, but never a Pineapple Upside Down Cake. Maybe it’s because the name is too long to write on the menu, because it’s certainly tasty enough to appear alongside any respectable cup of tea.

Choosing to make a cake a mere three days after giving up refined sugar may seem a tad odd, but I like a challenge. Plus, seeing as though pineapple is such a sweet tasty fruit I figured the actual cake can’t need much of the refined stuff. I adapted a recipe from cooks.com and was utterly delighted with the results. As I’d never had it’s before I couldn’t tell you if it looked right, or anything, I just know it tastes bloody good.

image

I used honey and agave syrup to add a touch of sweetness to the sponge, I like these as a more natural ingredient. Yes the cake is still sweet and sugary but at least it doesn’t contain hundreds of grams of the white powder they claim is so bad for us. The recipe is in cups- I have a tendency to avoid recipes that list things in cups, what with being English and preferring to measure out my ingredients in grams on scales, but every now and then I give it a go. Last year when I left my first ever proper job I got a brilliant leaving gift: a Russian Doll style set of cooking implements, ranging from a teensy measuring spoon to a huge mixing bowl. It include ‘cups’ and so I can brave the world of American recipes.

image

Here’s my adapted recipe.

  • 2tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup honey

Melt the honey and butter in a pan, then pour into a square baking tray. Place 6 pineapple slices on the bottom on the tray. (I used 5 but 6 would’ve been better)

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup honey/ agave syrup (I used half and half)
  • 1 egg
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 1/2 cup self raising flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder

Melt butter and honey/agave syrup in a pan. Put in bowl.

Lightly beat egg with vanilla. Add to butter, and mix.

Mix in milk and pineapple juice and beat well.

Beat in flour and baking powder.

Pour over pineapple rings.

Bake in the oven at 180 for 35mins.

image

Super delicious, I had it with Greek yogurt and a cup of tea. Enjoy.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

