Pumpkins are the new Courgette

 

 

Perfect pumpkin
Perfect pumpkin

They are though really. As courgette season comes to an end and the plants stop fruiting and just give up and die, the surrounding allotments flourish with pumpkins and butternut squash. In our naivety and first year ignorance we planted our butternut sqaushes a bit um, well squashed together, and so rather than letting them grow and thrive and spread like triffids as they are want to do, ours essentially shrivelled up and didn’t do very much.

image

Fortunately the folk on our allotment are friendly people, and we managed to acquire a lovely jack o lantern style pumpkin and a collection of butternut squash to keep us going. This was of course in addition to the giant pumpkin that we had grown of our own. This pumpkin was sacred, saved to be the ultimate Halloween decoration and so all the pumpkin recipes I had my eye on would have to be directed elsewhere. Turns out one pumpkin (gifted from a friendly fellow alloter) goes a long way. So far in fact I had to throw half of it away, I literally couldn’t cook pumpkin fast enough.

In one short week I made

– pumpkin chilli

-sausage and pumpkin stew

-pumpkin spiced soup

– pumpkin spiced cupcakes

And I still had half a pumpkin left. I felt I’d got Β my worth though so I was fairly happy. Far and away the best thing I made was the cupcakes. I decorated them with cream cheese icing and fruit polos to make them look a bit like spooky bloodshot eyes, perfect for Halloween. It’s a bit belated, but here you go

image

Spiced pumpkin cupcakes

  • 175ml sunflower oil
  • 175g light brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • 200g grated pumpkin flesh
  • 100g sultanas/ mixed peel
  • 2tsp cinnamon
  • 200g self raising flour
  • 1tsp bicarb

1. Pour oil into bowl, add sugar, eggs, vanilla and beat well.

2. Add pumpkin, sultanas and mixed peel

3. Stir in cinnamon, flour and bicarb

4. Spoon into cases

5. Bake 25mins in hot oven and then cool

6. Decorate with cream cheese icing, and seasonal additions. I used fruit polos and red icing to get the bloodshot effect.

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

