What Katie Made: Courgettes Part IIII

Goodness me, I’ve been so neglectful. I have been busy in the kitchen, putting end of seasons gluts to good use and not even had the politeness to share my recipes.

First and foremost then, a few of you might remember that a little while a go I tried my hand at making courgette bread and was rewarded with nothing but a heavy stodgy unappetising loaf. I was most disappointed, courgette bread felt like something that should work. That being said, it’s not like the internet is awash with recipes, not even the same recipe again and again- which I should have taken as a sign that it was not meant to be. I persevered with other courgette recipes and after success after success with cakes and scones and the like, the nagging thought at the back of my mind remained, every now and then prompting me to google variations on the theme of ‘courgette bread’ in the hope that I’d strike gold with a recipe.

Fortune fell into my hands though when I bought Jack Monroe’s book A Girl Called Jack, and found not even 10 recipes in, a recipe for the most delicious and tasty courgette loaf.

You can find the recipe here on her blog. But I recommend her book, it’s fab and full of lovely recipes and gorgeous pictures.

We ate the bread warm with lots of butter and found it to be delish. 🙂

image

The other thing I’ve been using my courgettes for is pickle. Now I am not really a pickle person, but at this time of year it’s all anyone talks about, and I do like to get on board with a good trend. I got into Freegle a little while ago and one of the things I acquired was about 10 clear glass jars. After much whinging from my fella about me hoarding useless items and cluttering up the house (as if!) I decided to put them into action and make something he likes. Now, being that I only made my pickle a couple of weeks ago we’ve not actually broken it out of the jars yet….but I  am hopeful.

Ginger and Cinnamon Courgette Pickle

700g or so of courgettes, cut into small cubes
4 apples or pears of a combination of both, peeled and cored
2 onions finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 heaped tsp ground ginger
1tsp cinnamon
250g brown sugar
250ml white wine vinegar

1. Put all the ingredients in a large pan. Bring to the boil. Turn down the heat and simmer for about 1.5 hours, stirring occasionally, until the liquid has reduced significantly and thickened,.
2. Carefully pop into sterilised jars, leave to cool, then label and then leave for a couple of weeks- but best if you can leave it a bit longer. Make now and then gift it to everyone for Christmas….

I made Spicy Courgette Pickle too, following essentially the same recipe just switching my ground ginger and cinnamon for fresh ginger and two fresh chillis.

That’s the end of our courgette’s for this season, but fear not readers, we’ve just put our order in with the seed catalogue down the allotment and have a few varieties ready for next year. We are definitely into the autumn harvest now which is well exciting so brace yourselves for some pumpkin themed goodness…..

image

Leave a Reply

