Raspberry and White Chocolate Cheesecake

In February 2011 I decided to learn to juggle.

I thought “woah, juggling is a cool hobby that’ll impress the socks of everyone”. You know, as you do.

So, I went on ebay and purchased myself some mighty standard juggling balls in their customary red, yellow and green and took to my bedroom to master the art of juggling. My circus skills left a lot to be desired, and it wasn’t long before my flat mates, driven insane by the continuous dropping of bean bags on my wooden floor (a thud thud, quickly followed up by an expletive of frustration) asked me to practice over my bed in order to dull the sound of failure echoing through the flat.  A few days later I emerged from my room, bored and defeated, my fickle nature once more rendering my latest purchase useless. I was done with juggling.

I still wanted to impress people though, but I didn’t want to put in hours of practice for some future goal. I wanted instant gratification. Something that was going to make my flatmates love me rather than hate me right now. I came to the conclusion that impressing people with my dessert making skills would be much more enjoyable. The first thing I made was a Strawberry Cheesecake, and its success prompted a month of Sunday night baking. This recipe for Raspberry and White Chocolate Cheesecake is just a variation on that.

image

  • 125g digestive biscuits
  • 125g ginger nuts
  • 150g melted butter
  • vanilla essence
  • 600g soft cheese
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 284ml double cream
  • fresh raspberries
  • 100g white chocolate, melted in a bain marie

1. crush biscuits to crumbs. Add butter and mix until coated. Tip into the pie dish and press down to make an even layer. Chill 1hr.

2. mix soft cheese, icing sugar and vanilla essence with an electric mixer. Tip in the double cream, mix until totally combined. Stir in the melted chocolate and gently stir in the raspberries.

3. spread evenly over the biscuit base, making sure there are no air bubbles. Smooth over with the back of a spoon and then chill overnight.

4. decorate with fresh raspberries and sift over icing sugar.

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

